Writing tip: it’s not about you–really!

Bob Burg and John David Mann, authors of The Go-Giver, have done it again. They’ve written It’s Not About You: A Little Book About What Matters Most In Business, challenging the typical business mindset of making the sale and sealing the deal. As the title states, it’s not about you. It’s also not about the product or service you provide, your powers of persuasion, or what you want.

It is about your present and future customers. What do they want? What do they need? What will make their lives better, easier, or more productive?

From a writing and content creation standpoint, I whole-heartedly agree with the book’s advice to limit your use of first person singular–I, me, my, mine–in favor of first person plural and second person–we, us, you,  and (for those of you who grew up in the South like I did) you all.

Try this and see if it makes a difference with your customers.

Comments are closed.

