How do you measure online success?

“Measure twice, cut once” doesn’t just apply to home improvement projects. It also applies to your online presence. Measure where you are now, make some cuts or improvements then measure again. Don’t simply equate the success (or failure) of your online content with money in your bank account.

At the very least, start with Google alerts for your brand, the analytics for your Web site, and relevant (not self-promoting) comments on your blog. Look for answers to questions like
• How often am I mentioned?
• Is my brand mentioned in a positive way?
• How have negative comments led to opportunities to improve brand perception?
• What are people searching for when they land on my Web pages?
• Are they finding what they need?
• Am I building relationships?
• Are people sharing my ideas and content?
• Does my target market know what to do next—respond to a blog post or call to action, attend a teleseminar, try my tips and share their success?

How much money you make because of your online presence is only one measure of success. Build a solid foundation now by paying attention to these other measurements.

Comments are closed.

