Community service and your business skills

Community service. What first comes to mind when you see these words? Do you think of community service as an option? A privilege? A mandatory school assignment necessary for your child’s graduation? The outcome of a judge’s ruling? A way to give back? An action that will bring you more business and more business contacts? Or do you immediately think of a favorite cause? I do.

I live in one of the most affluent counties of the United States, yet some of my not-so-distant neighbors live in substandard housing. For this reason, I am happy to continue being a part of Good Works Inc. as this group of almost 2000 volunteers enters  their twenty-third year of making Chester County Pennsylvania homes warmer, safer, and drier.

If you’d like to get involved, visit the Good Works Web site. Don’t dismiss community service because you can’t wield a hammer or you live too far away from your favorite charity to help. My home repair skills are average, at best, but I have years of experience as a virtual volunteer for non-profits needing writing (my specialty) and record-keeping support. Your business skills and expertise may also fill a crucial need.

How are you using your skills and talents to make a positive difference in your community as a volunteer?

Comments are closed.

