How do I interact with all my Twitter followers?

How do you interact with all of your Twitter followers (and acquaintances, business associates, clients, club members, friends, and prospects)? There are probably as many answers to this question as there are networking “experts” so I will stick with my simple, tried-and-true answer: one person at a time.

View each person as a unique individual. Treat them as you would like to be treated. No one wants to be just a number or a face in the crowd. Almost everyone likes to feel as if they are the most important person in the world, at least for the moment when you are interacting.

Try to

  • Show an interest in their lives and the things they are passionate about
  • Listen with the desire to make a positive connection
  • Answer questions
  • Pass along helpful information
  • Say good things about them to others
  • Ask how you can help
  • Respond to people’s requests
  • Express appreciation
  • Give thanks when thanks is due
  • Encourage
  • Have fun
  • Be yourself at all times

 What are your favorite tips for making connections at networking events and online?

One Response to How do I interact with all my Twitter followers?

  1. Vicki Voisin says:

    Your list is so comprehensive that I don’t know if I can add to it! My goal on Twitter is to inspire others…either with tips or quotes or ideas. That anyone would take the time to read my Tweets is an honor…after all, their time is their most valuable asset! With that in mind, I try to keep my Tweets interesting and worth reading. By the way, I can be followed on Twitter as @VickiVoisin.

