Be happy

I was delighted to stumble upon the Secret Society of Happy People and their 31 types of happiness project. In tough economic times, it’s easy for people to borrow trouble, lack hope, and be without enthusiasm while struggling to pay the bills and keep food on the table and a roof over their heads.

I speak from childhood experience when I say one can be poor and still learn to be content, even happy. Perhaps this is easiest as a child. Besides having fewer responsibilities, children have a natural exuberance and playfulness. They anticipate birthdays and joyfully enter into celebrations of all kinds. Many are spontaneous and enjoy surprises that cost little or nothing (like catching butterflies and walking in the rain).

I know I am grateful for my children. I am glad for the laughter they bring into my life even when I am more amazed than amused. I am also fortunate they are fun and funny as well as giving, compassionate, loving individuals.

Thank you, Secret Society of Happy People, for adding cheer to our lives by pointing out so many ways to be happy.

Comments are closed.

